2018-2019 Academic Bulletin 
    Jun 15, 2024  
2018-2019 Academic Bulletin [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Communication Arts and Theatre

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Divisions and Departments

Professors Mehler (Chair), Branch, Cosdon, Crozier, Keeley, Silva, Sinha Roy, Tompkins, Watkins, Wiebel, Wilson, Yochim

Communication Arts and Theatre Mission Statement:

The Communication Arts and Theatre Department is dedicated to the creative and critical study of communication, with special emphasis on theatre, rhetoric, and media. The curriculum offers opportunities for the performance, practice, in-depth study, and analysis of texts and techniques in each of these spheres. Students engage in production, performance, and critical cultural studies, with the objective of becoming competent and engaged artists/scholars in their fields. The department’s liberal arts emphasis encourages students to develop habits of engaged citizenship, thoughtful professionalism, and a meaningful private life.

Students should consult with department faculty to discuss career options and internship opportunities. Internships sponsored by the Communication Arts department require the joint approval of a faculty liaison person and the host agency.

Majors and minors in Communication and Theatre are encouraged to participate in student activities such as AFTV (Allegheny Film and Television), WARC-FM radio, the Playshop Theatre, Student Experimental Theatre, Orchesis dance troupe, The Campus newspaper, and the Allegheny Literary Journal/Allegheny Review publications.

Please note: Most 100-level classes and COMRT 285  must be taken prior to the student’s senior year.

Communication Learning Outcomes for Other Students

Students who successfully complete a few courses in Communication Arts are expected to:

  • Cultivate a critical awareness about communication practices they encounter in public and private life.


To see the courses offered in this department or program, please use the “Course Search” link from the menu at the right of this page.



    Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Divisions and Departments